WAPR. London Atack. Solidarity with all victims from violence.

23 March, 2017

Share this:

On the occasion of the terrorist attack in London, it may be timely to recall a WAPR previous declaration (November 19th. 2015, after the bombing attack in París) and, on behalf WAPR:

  • Express our deepest solidarity with the people and the City of London.
  • Extend our solidarity to the victims of all kind of human produced disasters, including those that are not presented in the media with the same level of relevance or even ignored. WAPR considers that all these events deserve the same condemn and all the victims the same solidarity.
  • State, once again, as we have already done in previous statements*, that “ …promoting and protecting the mental health and the well being of the population must be a high priority for governments. Paying attention to the mental and emotional health of a nation’s people must be given added priority during crises and disasters such as the world is currently experiencing. Worth noting in this context is that mental health funding is cost effective”

                   * (Athens Declaration, 2013).

  • Note that WAPR is well aware of the relevancy of mental health problems in connection with the impact of trauma due to violence, natural disasters, or adverse social determinants, and is also of the role of Psychosocial Rehabilitation principles and strategies on the aid of communities to overcome the impact of such events.

Madrid, march 23rd. 2017. 
WAPR Head Office.


Read more

Related News

Next Board Meeting

Date and Time: 12 June 2024, 14:30 (CEST) Agenda will follow... Dr. Gabriele Rocca WAPR President

read more

Election Process and WAPR Board Meetings 2022

Next Board Meeting, 7 May 2022, 3 pm CEST Click here to see the agenda WAPR Board 2022-2025 Click here to read more (Updated) Bids are invited for the 15th World Congress of the World Association for Psychosocial Rehabilitation, 2025(tbc). Find here the WAPR World...

read more

WAPR Human Rights Committee

We have had our first meeting in the reorganized human rights committee, that Michaela Amering will continue to chair. Members at the meeting were: Gabriele Rocca, Murali Thyloth, Marit Borg, Guadalupe Morales, Solange De Vidts, Errico Landi, V. K. Radhakrishnan &...

read more